Rigondeaux retains WBA superbantam title

By Togorashi

By David Robinett and Miguel Maravilla at ringside

In a controversial ending to an interesting matchup between undefeated beltholders, “regular” WBA Super Bantamweight champion Guillermo Rigondeaux (18-0, 12 KOs) knocked out WBA Interim Super Bantamweight titlist Moses Flores (25-1, 17 KOs) at the end of the first round with a left hook after the bell. Both fighters threw a punch after the bell sounded, but Flores’ punch did not land while Rigondeaux’s punch did, laying Flores out and immediately ending the fight. After a several minute delay, it was announced that the Nevada State Athletic Commission ruled that Rigondeaux’s punch was legal, although no explanation was immediately given. After the fight, Rigondeaux, after some prodding by HBO’s Max Kellerman, stated that he would consider catchweight fights with former pound-for-pound king Roman “Chocolatito” Gonzalez and current WBO Super Featherweight champion Vasyl Lomachenko.

The post Rigondeaux retains WBA superbantam title appeared first on Boxing News.

Source:: Fightnews.com